.grecaptcha-badge {visibility: hidden;}

As part of the festivities for the 40th Anniversary Gala Ball on July 10 at Leonda by the Yarra, an ‘unofficial’ team of the 40 years will be selected for both the Men’s Seniors and the Men’s Reserves.

These teams will be announced on the night of the Gala Ball and it is hoped that as many of the players selected in the final team as possible will be in attendance at Leonda.

The selection committee comprises of John Ryan, Sean O’Loughlin & Peter Wright.

Eligibility criteria is 50 games for the club, reserves eligibility is >50% of those games being played in the reserves.

Well over 200 players were eligible to be selected for both teams.

There will be a ‘closest to the pin’ competition for club supporters to try and guess their own teams of the 40 years with a $300 cash prize per team for the best submission.

Here are the 2 shortlists of 60 players to help generate some discussion and interest for the event.

If you would like to submit your guess for either ‘Team of the 40 Years’ please see information below.

To be in the running for the $300 cash prize per team please transfer to


Single team entry = $20
Three (3) entries = $40
Four (4) entries = $50
Eight (8) entries = $100

Make your submission here for either team and make sure it is accompanied by a cash deposit as above.